Lucerne, Switzerland

When I got the itinerary for the month-long Eurotrip I took post-college graduation, I was surprised to see a few days in Switzerland on the agenda.  Slightly upset, I scoffed that it could have been an extra two days spent wandering in Florence or on the beach in Nice.  I don’t ski, I hate the cold, and, to be honest, I’ve never seen The Sound of Music.

How wrong I was.  Lucerne turned out to be one of my favorite cities on the trip.  It was beautiful, scenic, and simple, reminding me of where Belle must have lived in Beauty and the Beast.  There was something elegant and regal about the village, and after some research, I learned that Lucerne is where Queen Victoria went to unwind and de-stress in the fresh mountain air.

You don’t need to spend more than two or three days here.  Easy to get to by bus or train, 50 miles or so from Zurich.  Be wary that Lucerne is EXPENSIVE. And by expensive I mean I consciously tried to eat as little as possible to save money. The small amount of food I ordered at the trendy McDonald’s cost nearly 16 Euros each visit.  (For my nerd readers, check out this Economist post about the actual Big Mac Index)

 

Lake Luzern #nofilter

Lake Luzern #nofilter

Where to Stay?
The Palace Luzern looked ritzy.  Where did I stay? At Jailhotel Löwengraben, also known as the Jail Hotel. It was literally a jail that had been converted to a hostel.  Everything was “jail” themed, we slept in bunk beds, and the windows had bars on them.  It was terrifying. The club in the lobby played Minimal tech house, which added to the prison-like atmosphere. Would I recommend staying here? YES. Great location in Old Town, inexpensive, and made for some hilariously misunderstood Facebook pictures.

Never let go!

Never let go!

 

Tourist Experiences

  • The Lion of Lucerne – You can Google the significance of it, quite frankly I don’t remember.  It was cool to see. And near some of the best…
  • Tourist shops! Chocolate, cuckoo clocks, cheese, and the only place you can buy an authentic green Wegner Swiss Army knife (until you get home and see it can be had on Etsy).
  • Boat trip across Lake Luzern. It really is one of the most breathtaking and beautiful places I’ve ever been.
  • Ride and climb to the top of Mt. Pilatus. If I remember correctly, it is the steepest rail system in the world. There is also a cable car. Unforgettable experience.
Top of the World... or at least Mt. Pilatus

Top of the World… or at least Mt. Pilatus

Where to Eat?

  • McDonald’s. See above.
Postcard from Jail - this Mupload got my parents' attention

Postcard from Jail – this Mupload got my parents’ attention

Where to Drink/Dance?

  • Get a bottle of something and drink heavily in your hotel.
  • Strichpunkt – club in the Jail Hotel. The DJ does not take requests.
  • Casineum – closest Luzern has to a megaclub

 

Leave a comment